When Rose Wakes

When Rose Wakes

For Ages: 14 and up
When sixteen-year-old Rose Perrault wakes to find herself in hospital, she has little memory of her life before the coma that put her there. Her awakening is welcomed with relief and joy by her aunts, whose faces are the only familiar sights that greet her. She knows they are her caretakers, and that they all come from France, but otherwise her memory is a blur.

Yet as she recovers, there is something that troubles Rose about her aunts. They seem to be hiding something, and afraid of something as well, as though they fear that they -- and Rose -- are in danger. Her aunts seem, at times, to be able to do things that are simply impossible, like moving from one place to another without crossing the distance between. Their luck is extraordinary -- almost magical.

And when she dreams, Rose has nightmares of fairy tales gone horribly wrong.

Soon, she learns the story of Sleeping Beauty, and as events unfold and her aunts' fears become greater . . . and a dark, mysterious woman begins to follow her . . . Rose begins to believe that the story of Sleeping Beauty is real, and that the princess in the tale is herself. And now that she has awakened, she is in terrible, terrible danger.
  • MTV Books | 
  • 320 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781439148235 | 
  • November 2010
List Price £6.99

Read an Excerpt


To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit

More Books from this Author

King of Hell
Battle for Arcanum
Dragon Secrets

About the Author

Christopher Golden
Photograph by Jacqueline Semrau

Christopher Golden

Christopher Golden is the New York Times bestselling author of novels for adults and younger readers. In addition to the Magic Zero quartet, his YA fiction includes Poison Ink and both the Prowlers series and the Body of Evidence series of teen thrillers, several of which have appeared on the YALSA Best Books for Young Readers list. His current work-in-progress is Cemetery Girl, a graphic novel trilogy collaboration with Charlaine Harris. He has cowritten three illustrated novels with Mike Mignola, the first of which, Baltimore, or The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire, was the launching pad for the Eisner-nominated, New York Times bestselling comic book series Baltimore. As an editor, he has worked on the short story anthologies The New Dead, The Monster’s Corner, and 21st Century Dead, among others, and has also written and cowritten video games, screenplays, and a network television pilot. His original novels have been published in more than fourteen languages in countries around the world.